Governing Bodies

Along with the restructuration of the research, the governance and strategic actions have been updated with the Severo Ochoa mention of Excellence. They include:

Direction team

The elections at ICMAB on October 2016 renewed the Director, Xavier Obradors, and the Executive Board, formed by Maria Rosa Palacín and Riccardo Rurali (Vicedirectors), Imma Moros (Managing Director) andMarta Vendrell (Executive Assistant).

Strategic Managing Unit

The Strategic Managing Unit at ICMAB is responsible for the implementation of the funding obtained by the Institute. It plays a key role supporting our researchers in the preparation, submission and reporting of local, national and European grants. In close collaboration with ICMAB’s governing bodies and the other available Units, it promotes a continuous development strategy to position ICMAB as one of the leading European Research Centers in Materials Science. 

Among its main objectives, the Unit is responsible for the constant search for new funding opportunities focusing on the strategic and innovation objectives of our Severo Ochoa FUNMAT award with the aim of enhancing ICMAB's scientific excellence, with an open-minded approach to detect new opportunities for our researchers. In 2016 the Unit was formed by Jorge Pérez and Montse Salas.

Institute Board

The Institute Board is formed by the Director, the Vicedirectors, the Managing Director, the Heads of the Department, the Staff representatives and the Graduate researchers’ representative. The meetings of the Institue Board are held twice a year.

The Direction Team:

  • Xavier Obradors – Director
  • M. Rosa Palacín – Vicedirector
  • Riccardo Rurali – Vicedirector
  • Imma Moros – Managing Director

Heads of Department:

  • José Luis García – Head of Department Crystallography of Magnetic and Electronic Oxides and Surfaces
  • Francesc Teixidor – Head of Department Functional Molecular and Nanostructured Inorganic Materials
  • Jaume Veciana – Head of Department Molecular Nanoscience and Organic Materials (NANOMOL)
  • Elies Molins – Head of Department Crystallography
  • Isabel Alonso – Head of Department Nanostructured Materials for Optoelectronics and Energy Harvesting
  • Amparo Fuertes – Head of Department Solid State Chemistry
  • Teresa Puig – Head of Department Superconducting Materials and Large Scale Nanostructures
  • Alberto García – Head of Department Theory and Simulation

Staff and Graduate Researchers representatives:

  • Ana Fernández – Staff representative
  • José Vidal – Staff representative
  • Juan Carlos González – Graduate Researcher representative

Scientific Executive Board (SEB)

The Scientific Executive Board, formed by 10 members, including:

The Direction team:

  • Xavier Obradors - Director
  • M. Rosa Palacín - Vicedirector
  • Riccardo Rurali - Vicedirector

The Strategic Managing Unit:

  • Jorge Pérez
  • Montse Salas

The Research Line coordinators:

  • Mariano Campoy-Quiles - RL1 | Sustainable Energy Conversion and Storage Systems
  • Teresa Puig - RL2 | Superconductors for Power Applications
  • Josep Fontcuberta - RL3 | Oxide Electronics
  • Marta Mas-Torrent - RL4 | Molecular Electronics
  • Immaculada Ratera - RL5 | Multifunctional Nanostructured Biomaterials

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisoy Board (SAB) is an international committee in charge of the evaluation of the Severo Ochoa Project implementation. It is formed by 12 international members, 11 of which are non-Spanish, and 5 of which are women (42 %). The members are:


Max Planck Institute for Science of Light Erlangen (Gemany)


Laboratoire de Physico-Chimie, Pharmacotechnie et Biopharmacie (France)

Rudolf GROSS, from the

Technische Universität München, Physik Department (Germany)


Florida State University; High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Tallahassee (USA)


CIC biomaGUNE (Spain)


University of Cambridge, Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy (UK)


Collège de France, Chimie du solide et de l'énergie (France)


Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SISSA) (Italy)


W. M. Keck Smart Materials Integration Laboratory (USA)

Maurizio PRATO

Università di Triste (Italy) and CIC biomaGUNE (Spain)


School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)


School of Materials Science in Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology (USA).

Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona
Campus de la UAB 08193 Bellaterra, SPAIN
Tel: +(34) 935 801 853
Fax: +(34) 935 805 729
Alejandro Santos 
Anna May-Masnou
Graphic Design
José Antonio Gómez

José Antonio Gómez 
Albert Moreno