Library "Manuel Cardona"

The library of the Materials Science Institute is specialized in Materials Science. It is part of the global CSIC Library Network, which joins a total of 90 specialized libraries distributed among 21 cities within 10 Autonomous Communities.

The library collection covers subject areas related to Material Science such as Physics, Chemistry and Crystallography. It counts with 1000 monographs and 105 periodic publications and, at present, subscribes to 60 periodical journals.

The ICMAB is committed to the Open Access policies, and it is through the Library that the documents are uploaded to the DIGITAL.CSIC publication repository. 

The library is open to all ICMAB staff and other CSIC personnel and also to other Research or Academic Centres. It open from Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

2016 Activities

In 2016 the library held an Open Access information session about the mandates of the funding agencies. The session was open for all the Institute's research staff.

In adition, a training on GesBIB (application of bibliometrics for libraries of the CSIC network) and on the accreditations "Severo Ochoa" and "María de Maeztu" was held for the librarians of the CSIC in Catalonia.

The documentation service registered 122 requests from other libraries and received 32 documents from them, and 32 monographs, according to the statistics of the URICI.

The documentation service also carried out various bibliometric statistics for the researchers and for the Institute, such as those for the preparation of the SAB evaluation of the Severo Ochoa accreditation, those for examination juries, or the calculation of all the scientific production of Professor Manuel Cardona for the event held in his honor. 
Alejandro Santos is the Librarian & Documentalist of the ICMAB Library "Manuel Cardona".

Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona
Campus de la UAB 08193 Bellaterra, SPAIN
Tel: +(34) 935 801 853
Fax: +(34) 935 805 729
Alejandro Santos 
Anna May-Masnou
Graphic Design
José Antonio Gómez

José Antonio Gómez 
Albert Moreno